Famous Starts with Humble Endings

Persephone Knits

famous-starts

Here is a game to play with poetry. The trick is to not read more than the first two lines of a famous poem, and then you try and write the next lines. Make no mistake, it’s generally awful, but it’s fun to do! So, get out a piece of paper and jot down your next two lines to The Sleeper by Edgar Allen Poe:

At midnight, in the month of June,
I stand beneath the mystic moon.
The light caresses all my skin
and makes me feel young again.

I haven’t done these in awhile, and it shows! The original carries weight and uses a better vocabulary than my not-quite-coffee’d brain. I did keep the meter mostly right, although my last line is off by one, but maybe that’s stylistic. We’ll go with that. 🙂
Here are Poe’s next two lines:

An opiate vapor, dewy, dim
Exhales from out…

View original post 267 more words

