The best books, according to me

Jane Bryony Rawson

I don’t know if anyone noticed, but I’ve stopped using Goodreads to review books. I thought I might read in private for a while and see how that went. So far, pretty well.

Still, you have to tell people your favourite books at the end of the year, right? So, in no particular order, these were my top 8:

  1. Solar Bones by Mike McCormack (2016)
  2. Their Brilliant Careers by Ryan O’Neill (2016) (Aust)
  3. The Dig Tree by Sarah Murgatroyd (Aust)
  4. The three books of the Captive Prince series by CS Pacat (Aust)
  5. Aurora by Kim Stanley Robinson
  6. Beatlebone by Kevin Barry
  7. The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
  8. How to be Both by Ali Smith

I don’t know if they have that much in common – three Goldsmith’s Prize winners are in there, I think, and if Ryan O’Neill was published in England it’d probably be four – Their brilliant careers

View original post 305 more words

