Ethos, pathos, logos: Adding Depth to Character

Most Excellent advice.!!! ⭐🙌⭐

Quintessential Editor

pathos-ethos-logos.jpgWhen I left the military and began college I had to take a basic English composition course.  At the time, I was pretty frustrated.  In the military, your training and experience is converted into applicable credits, which normally transfer when you start college.  I was journalist – why was I having to take basic English?  I remember thinking, “Why waste my time with this when I’ve been writing professionally for eight years?”  What a pretentious blow-hard I was.  I learned things in that course I still use in my writing today.  One of the biggest takeaways was the use of ethos, pathos, and logos.

Ethos, pathos, and logos was the brain child of Aristotle.  He believed if a person was to sway another their argument needed to have an ethical appeal and come from someone with credibility (ethos), it needed to invoke emotion (pathos), and it needed to…

View original post 512 more words

