Otherworlds #1 – The Son of the Dead Woman

Feral Words

P1050035

It started with a book. I found it while returning from a trip to the peninsula of Knoydart on the northwest coast, where David Hine and I had spent a week taking in the experience of incessant, torrential rain. Such wonders you may find in Scotland…

A change of train required a brief stop in the town of Fort William and, to pass the time, I briefly dropped in to the West Highland Museum. If I am honest, I sought it out as much for its heating system as I did for the knowledge it contained- my boots were sodden and cold- but my chance presence led me to pluck from a bookshelf a text that was, in due course, to lead me on something of a journey. It began like this…

The book was born in the closing years of the 19th century. Such a late date of publication…

View original post 1,635 more words

