My Top Ten … Modern Vampire Novels

Francis James Franklin (Alina Meridon)

If this were ‘My Top Ten … Vampire Novels’ I would have to include classics such as Carmilla and Dracula, but I may as well just refer people to David Stuart Davies’s Children of the Night: Classic Vampire Stories. I’m making my life easier and sticking to modern vampire novels, where ‘modern’ essentially means 1976 and after.

If this were ‘My Top Ten … Most Influential Modern Vampire Novels’ then I would probably have to include the Twilight and Sookie Stackhouse series, and maybe Vampire Diaries. I haven’t read these, although I have seen bits on TV. They have their good points, but ultimately they, like most paranormal romance, are very focussed on the vampires as gorgeous, sexy boyfriends. I have nothing against romance in vampire novels, but if the romance takes precedence over the vampiric elements, then it doesn’t work for me.

There are other excellent modern…

View original post 1,140 more words

