Samhain | Ancient Irish Celebration of New Year

aliisaacstoryteller

samhain

I’ve never really liked Halloween. I never understood why people got excited about  dressing up, or visiting the homes of strangers and demanding ‘Trick or Treat’. I never enjoyed the gaudy decorations, or the references to vampires, witches, werewolves, etc. It just felt like a superficial, commercial event designed to make money. Yes, Halloween is big business, just like Valentines Day, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day… and the pressure to conform or be a killjoy is immense.

Strangely, although not a Christian, I love Christmas, so at least Scrooge is not a label anyone can level at me.

I was surprised when I came to Ireland at how big Halloween is over here. Then I learned about Samhain, and it all fell into place for me. And before you ask, no, I’m not a pagan either.

For our ancient ancestors, the day began not with the arrival of dawn, but with…

View original post 972 more words

