The Lady in the Tower: The Fall of Anne Boleyn by Alison Weir

loudbookishtype

Lately, I like to insist that “I liked the Tudors before they were cool!” (yes, I am a history hipster.) This isn’t true, of course; people have been fascinated by the Tudors since the Victorian Age. But it is true that I was obsessed with this messed-up family long before Philippa Gregory jumped on the bandwagon. Karen Cushman was my gateway author into historic fiction in 4th grade, and it must have been soon after that that I first read about the Tudors – the first one I read was either about Mary Boleyn or Mary Tudor, but they both shared two things: Anne Boleyn was heavily featured, and Lord was she an evil conniving bitch. Naturally, I was intrigued. I found a historic fiction book from Anne’s perspective, devoured it, and then read three more. Then I read about Elizabeth. Then Mary Boleyn again. Then Anne. Then Elizabeth. Repeat…

View original post 660 more words

