The Top 100 Writers – Finding the Best Writers in History – Part 1

This Blog Intentionally Blank

It should already be evident to all of you that finding the absolute best of anything as subjective as writing is impossible. However, it is possible to glean a consensus of who is redeemed in writing, and who is not.

With that in mind, I set out to do determine what is a consensus view of who the best writers in history are. Given I don’t have time to read a sampling from every major writer, I ruled out first-hand research right off. Instead, I turned to Internet research.

The How

My belief is that there are a number of factors to balance in determining artistry. Namely, those are critical assessments of the writer’s work, readers’ assessments, and readers’ voting by virtue of purchasing the writers’ work. I was able to find a number of listings of writers – each at least 100 writers deep – that covered all three…

View original post 663 more words

