Why Lilith?

The Lilith Diaries

Shubby Doo asked why my blog is named after Lilith.  Simply put – I have a fascination with the folklore.  I think it comes from the fact that I raised in a Patriarchal society and the legend of a woman who defied God and her equal strikes me as the core essence of the soul of a true human…naturally defiant, selfish and self serving.

The earliest surviving account of Lilith is from the Alphabet of Ben Sira which contains 22 Aramaic and 22 Hebrew alphabetical list of proverbs arranged alphabetically with haggadic commentary.  The alphabet (especially the second alphabet) is rich with stories and fables and written sometime between the 8th and 11th centuries.  Some say it is a satire.  You can find copies of the original Hebrew non-canonical book called Sirach or Ecclesiasticus (not Ecclesiastes) in retailers like Amazon. There is quite a lot of speculation about the true…

View original post 558 more words

