Naturalistic Paganism

– by B. T. Newberg

How do we experience our world?

…through touch, taste, smell, sound, sight, and introspection.

The following meditation grounds a person deeply in these six foundations of experience.  One by one, awareness is brought to each of them in turn, then all are integrated into one seamless experience.

This can produce calm and alertness, dislodge self-centered tendencies, and encourage appreciation and wonder for the world around and within us.

Click below for a 15-minute audio guided meditation.  Details and text of the meditation follow.

What is the Five +1?

The Five +1 refers to the five senses (touch, taste, smell, sound, and sight), plus the faculty of introspection.

Though the concept of the Five +1 is not unique to Humanistic Paganism (the Buddhist ayatana anticipate it by about 2500 years), the term was coined in our very first post.  I wanted to liken…

View original post 1,106 more words